Drs. Hackett, Miranda & Hardenbergh Honored with Physician Awards

Original Post by Vail Valley Medical Center on December 20, 2012

Vail Valley Medical Center honored the 2012 winners of the Physician of the Year, Rising Star and the Clinical Excellence awards to Dr. Thomas Hackett, Dr. Gregory Miranda and Dr. Patricia Hardenbergh, respectively. A special recognition was also given to Dr. Paul Corcoran, local dentist, as well.

The awards were presented at an annual ceremony earlier this month in Edwards by Vail Valley Medical Center President and CEO Doris Kirchner, President of the VVMC Medical Staff Dr. Jamie Gray and Vail Health Services Board Chair Ron Davis.

The Physician of the Year award acknowledges the physician’s abilities in leadership, quality patient care, contributions to the community and hospital and the utilization of evidenced-based medicine in daily practice. This year’s award went to Hackett, orthopaedic surgeon at The Steadman Clinic and researcher at Steadman Philippon Research Institute. Hackett has been a physician in Vail since 2004 and has been the lead physician for the U.S. Snowboard Team for seven years, in addition to his work at the Vancouver Olympics and the upcoming Sochi Olympics in 2014. Hackett exemplifies leadership through community presentations, actively working to better the medical center and orthopaedics through committee work and supports many local nonprofits. Hackett is a great communicator, respectful colleague, hardworking physician and a compassionate medical provider.

“Dr. Hackett has built a career around excellence in patient care and has made major contributions to the local healthcare community and the greater orthopaedic and sports medicine profession through his hard work, research and compassionate care,” Kirchner said.

“The Rising Star Award is for physicians that embody all of the qualities of Physician of the Year, but have been on staff at Vail Valley Medical Center for five or fewer years,” said Dr. Barry Hammaker, medical director at VVMC. “The Clinical Excellence Award is for a physician who has contributed to cutting edge techniques or research.”